Empty Nester Sunday School Class

My Sunday School class kicks off January 8th. It’s going to be for empty nesters.

Why a special class for empty nesters? Research shows that divorce rates jump 16% when the kids leave. That’s amazing to me. This is the time that so many couples have been working toward, looking forward to, and then when they are face to face with it, it blows them away. I want to do something about that, if even in my small sphere of influence.

We’re going to start in my class with a book called The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman. I’ve been posting excerpts of it to my Facebook page. Essentially, this book looks at 5 ways that people express love for each other. And it also looks at the confusion when a husband expresses love in his primary language while his wife has a different love language.

The love languages are:

Words of Affirmation
Quality Time
Receiving Gifts
Acts of Service
Physical Touch

I cannot possibly do it justice in a blog. If you desire to make your relationships (spouse, kids, friends) better, pick up this book and read it. Put it into practice.

Leave a Reply

